Marijuana in New Hampshire
NEW HAMPSHIRE– Marijuana Use Is Decriminalized for Adults
New Hampshire has decriminalized marijuana. There is no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount for personal use. The conduct is treated like a minor traffic violation.” -- Norml
Possession of Pot
- Any person age 18 or older who possesses less than three-quarters of an ounce of marijuana is guilty of a violation and may be fined $100. Fines rise for third and fourth offenses
- The same fines apply to anyone over 21 years old who has a personal use amount of marijuana-infused products including edibles, drinks, tinctures and ointments.
- Possession of more than three-quarters ounce is a misdemeanor. Punishment may be up to 1 year in prison and a fine of no more than $350.
Hash and Concentrates
- Any person age 18 years or older who possesses less than 5 grams of hash is guilty of a violation and may be fined $100. Fines rise for third and fourth offenses.
- Having 5 grams or more of hash is a misdemeanor. Punishment may be a fine up to $350 and of imprisonment of no more than one year.
- The sale or possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor. Punishment may be up to one year imprisonment and a fine of no more than $2,000.
Driving and Marijuana
- New Hampshire has a drugged driving law. These laws forbid drivers from operating a motor vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug in their bodily fluids above a specific threshold. – Norml
- New Hampshire has medical marijuana laws. See: http://norml.org/legal/item/new-hampshire-medical-marijuana or https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/oos/tcp/index.htm
Use these links for recreational marijuana laws for each New England state.